Archon News

Archbishop Demetrios to receive Athenagoras Human Rights Award, October 27

His Eminence, Archbishop Demetrios, Primate of the Greek

Orthodox Archdiocese of America, has been selected to receive the 2007

Athenagoras Human Rights Award at the annual banquet of the Order of St.

Andrew on Saturday, October 27 at the New York Hilton. The Award

Ceremony coincides with the Annual Meeting of the Archons of the

Ecumenical Patriarchate in America and the Investiture of twenty-three

Archons at the Holy Trinity Archdiocesan Cathedral by His Eminence on

Sunday, October 28.

Dr. Anthony J. Limberakis, National Commander of the Order of St. Andrew

said, “Archbishop Demetrios of America exemplifies the very elements

that constitute the Athenagoras Human Rights Award – humanity, humility,

holiness, compassion and leadership. We will never forget his

extraordinary personal care in the tragic aftermath of the 9-11

terrorist attacks. On the occasion of his 40th Anniversary of his

ordination to the Episcopacy and in thanksgiving for his 47 years in the

priestly order of Melchizedek, he has demonstrated exemplary service to

humankind as an Orthodox hierarch, theologian, statesman and biblical


Deputy Secretary of State John Negroponte will be the main speaker and

Congressman Zack Space will serve as Master of Ceremonies that evening.

Invited guests include His Eminence, Cardinal Theodore McCarrick of

Washington, the Ambassadors of Greece and Cyprus, and Archons, religious

and government leaders and Orthodox faithful from throughout the country.

The Athenagoras Human Rights Award was established by the Order of Saint Andrew in 1986 in honor of Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras who served as Archbishop of the Americas and universally acknowledged as a visionary leader of Orthodoxy. The Award is presented to individuals or organizations who have demonstrated humanitarian service with distinction. Previous recipients have included

Archbishop Desmond Tutu, President Jimmy Carter, President George H.W.

Bush and Barbara Bush, Mother Teresa, Elie Wiesel, former President of

the Soviet Union Mikhail Gorbachev, the late Archbishop Iakovos, and

last year’s recipient, Mr. Nicholas J. Bouras.

View a complete schedule of events for the weekend.

Subscribe to our mailing list

More Posts